New Moped Laws Start Today
New Moped Regulations Go Into Effect Today
As of today, July 1, 2015, all mopeds are required to be registered with the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles. State statute defines a moped as having, “two or three wheels, no external shifter, with a motor not to exceed 50 cubic centimeters of piston displacement and up to 30 mph propulsion on a level surface.”
The new law requires all moped operators to register their vehicle with the Division of Motor Vehicles and mount a state-issued license plate for display at all times.
The cost of the registration is an $18 per-moped cost annually – same as a motorcycle – though some jurisdictions charge additional transit fees.
Required for registration is the manufacturer’s certificate of origin, and the moped must be designed for use on highways or public streets. Applicants can still register and plate their mopeds without a certificate of origin, as long they fill out an affidavit explaining why they lack the documentation and swearing they’re entitled to the registration.
An operator of a moped must be 16 years of age or older to operate on North Carolina highways or public vehicular areas. State law requires operators to wear a motorcycle safety helmet when using a moped on North Carolina highways. A driver license is not required.
Gov. Pat McCrory signed a separate bill on Monday that will require liability insurance on mopeds, effective July 2016.
For additional laws taking effect today, please see the article attached athttp://www.newsobserver.com/…/under-th…/article25851352.html